FANDOM


Online Community Edit

The #looking_for_game discord channel is where players gather to find dueling partners before sitting in the "Map Table > Battle > Duel" waiting room in headset. Discord is active as of March 2020.  Morning US time sometimes has EU players available to battle, as it's their afternoon/evening.  Evening US time mainly has US players as others are asleep. Or, join us for a Saturday event, when players are reliably available!

(Returning players who have reinstalled their software... here's a game data save file . Make sure you've launched the game at least once - you can quit right after. Then put the save file in "C:\Users\<username>\.insomniac\InsomniacEngine\" folder after deleting the game data save file that's already there; you can keep the user prefs save file. Then restart your game.)

Most active players are currently in the United States, and play in evening US Eastern time (after work). Weekend afternoons and evenings are also a good time to find players. Start out by speaking up on the discord channel to see who's playing. A number of the regular players are easily available for games when asked, even though they're not already in game. A few players are also available for morning or lunchtime games.

New players who'd like a mentor/coach are also very welcome - there are a few regular players who enjoy helping beginners get started and train up. We're friendly! Come play!

LIVE Tournament - June/July/August 2020 Edit

Unspoken will be featured in the League of International VR Esports competition this summer! The sign-up page is here https://www.live-il.net/the-unspoken-vr and play starts June 20, 2020. LIVE has a Discord server for tournament use.

The tournament will start with random matchups, move on to brackets, and then move into finals qualifiers and finals. The two-month format allows for late arrivals, to encourage new players into the game.

This tournament includes an interesting rules twist - in winning two out of three games against a single opponent, a player must win using two different character classes. This improves game balance by reducing the impact of any particular overpowered match-up, and encourages players to explore the game more broadly.

The tournament rules can be viewed here and the sign-up form is online. Players are playing more frequently as they train up - it's a great time to jump into the Unspoken Discord and find some matches on #looking_for_game!

Active Event: Beginner Duels (Weekly on Wednesday Evening US Time) - Active as of April 2020 Edit

Join us every Wednesday evening for Beginner Duels!

This is a time for beginner to intermediate players to duel each other and learn. We encourage top players to play private matches during this time if beginners show up to play. This way, beginner to intermediate players can find each other without getting stomped. (If beginners don't show up on the discord, feel free to play duels as usual.)

Teachers will be available on request for anyone who wants to ask questions or do focused skills practice.

This event timing focuses on US players, as we're experiencing unplayable game lag to Europe since quarantine, so we end up playing separately anyway.

When: Every Wednesday! 7pm-10pm Eastern / 6pm-9pm Central / 4pm-7pm Pacific.

Where: Map Table > Battle > Duel. First, come chat with us on the Discord channel #looking_for_game, so we know you're around and you all can find each other. If Discord is down, just jump directly into duel queue and play.

Active Event: Narrow Win (Weekly on Saturday) - Active as of June 2020 Edit

Asset 16@4x-8

Join us every Saturday for Narrow Win, our player-versus-player duels event! The best games are those with others of your skill level - playing through those last few hit points together, never sure whether you'll win or they will. Let's make more of those!

When: Every Saturday!  2pm US Eastern; 1pm US Central; 12pm US Mountain; 11am US Pacific. US times will remain as shown as we move into daylight savings time.

During US Standard time, EU times are as follows: 7pm/19:00 (UTC), 8pm/20:00 (UTC+1); 9pm/21:00 (UTC+2).  During US Daylight time, EU times are 6pm UTC, 7pm UTC+1, 8pm UTC+2. Ask on #looking_for_game if you're not sure of exact start time.

This event typically lasts 2 hours, although on busy days it might go as long as 4 hours. Once a month, our event will match Longest Night (below), for even more players in queue, and a longer duration!

Where: Unspoken map table > Battle > Duel. And when Discord is up, #looking_for_game will have the event conversations and announcements.

Returning Players Edit

Invite your friends! Or invite your nemesis and beat them once again! The more people drop in regularly, the more fun you'll have. Know how to find a player who's not on Discord? Let them know this is happening and how to find our event and our Discord channels.

We know it's more fun when there are a lot of you so you get close games. Drop a note on the discord on Friday or Saturday morning, if you're planning to play Saturday afternoon - it often increases attendance when top players see that other top players will be in queue.

Beginners Edit

Playing duels is a great way to learn the game from other players. The match system will prefer to match you with other beginner and intermediate players, and voice chat is included during games. It's a very welcoming player community. There are intermediate and advanced players who welcome new people and share great tips. Check out #tactics_and_theory and #looking_for_game on Discord as well.

Active Event: Longest Night (Monthly on Saturday) - Active as of July 2020 Edit

LN1-01

Longest Night is a planned time for players to come online together and play duels. It occurs once a month. Beginners to advanced players are welcome.  The schedule is announced on the Discord channel #news from "The Unspoken" discord server

Event start time is the same as Narrow Win above.  The events coincide intentionally so everyone gets to play together.  This event typically lasts 3-4 hours.

When: The next Longest Night event is July 18, 2020. 2pm US Eastern; 1pm US Central; 12pm US Mountain; 11am US Pacific. EU: 7pm (UTC), 8pm (UTC+1); 9pm (UTC+2).

Where: Unspoken map table > Battle > Duel. And when Discord is up, #looking_for_game will have the event conversations and announcements.

Returning Players Edit

Invite your friends! Or invite your nemesis and beat them once again! The more people drop in regularly, the more fun you'll have. Know how to find a player who's not on Discord? Let them know this is happening and how to find our event and our Discord channels.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.